March 25, 2002, 7:50 p.m.

Boskos thromuldo boskos

back & forth

No more gloom from me, kiddeaux. Henceforward, only whoop-de-doo songs, capisc'? Firing (of me, for incompetence, comma, gross) didn't happen today. Instead, I made a lot of espresso drinks, a little mess, and my way home. AK came over to sing another Carissimi cantata: Amor mio, che cos' � questo? Whose opening lines translate to, "My love, what's this? All day long, it's the same thing over from the beginning. You bitch and moan, and I have a headache"

Duh-duh duh duh-duh idiot
Duh - duh - duh
Duh-duh duh duh-duh idiot
Duh - duh - duh
Duh-duh duh duh-duh duh-duh intelligent duh
Duh-duh duh duh-duh duh-duh-duh duh...
[huh?]

* * * * *

My favorite long-haired ash-blond customer came in today. As I made his mocha, he paced the floor, muttering to himself under his breath and avoiding my glance -- I was, on the other hand, out of overtiredness and an unusual bout of self-confidence, trying to strike up a pleasant little barista conversation about the weather or something, but he didn't take to it. So, when I called him over to fetch his drink, he asked me if I had health benefits. "Yup," I said, "even dental, if I work here long enough." At this point, both of us were far too embarassed at the intimacy of the exchange to weasel out of the situation, so he paced for a while on the other side of the store and I tried not to look up. While all this was happening, the store sound system was playing the first movement from the Trout quintet, which makes my heart go pitter-pat.

I would regard this behavior with a far less indulgent eye if the gentleman in question were not so un-threatening. Nay, we must out with it: he is comely to look upon, not god-like, hardly having a corporeal form to bespeak enshrinement in smooth marble for all eternity, perhaps, but not a bad cut of manflesh, if I am to be allowed an opinion on the matter (I am). His shoulders slope like wool-clad alps, his eyes are demure, newt-like,blinking, and kind, and his belt probably wouldn't fit around a carrot. Tout court, just my type. Tomorrow, should he come in, I shall make him a Love Mocha.

Love Mochae tomorrow, sleeping tonight.

* * * * *

Current color: Murex-purple.
Current music: A clarinet quartet after the violin sonata KV 317, arranged from Mozart by J A Andr�.
Current animal totem: Spinach.
Current Shakespeare character: Parolles. There's place and means for every man alive.