2001-05-01, 7:00 p.m.

up the workers!

back & forth

May Day!

Had a splendid time this morning, up with the lark to watch the morris men and the maypole at the footbridge over the Charles. Three loud lusty cheers for sticking a giant phallus in the earth and dancing around it.

Besides, I got to get the same insincerity rush I used to get in houses of worship, singing hymns -- one of the may carols was "I love to rise when the sun she rises ... " Well, playing shepherdesses is charming enough (I had a number of exciting daydreams today about strapping young village lads myself) but I was grateful to get out of the sun and into the train when it was all over.

Work was swampy, as it's been for a few weeks. The attorneys, mercifully, are interviewing victims for the vacant paralegal position -- light, albeit somewhat dim-looking, at the end of the tunnel.

Heading out this evening to Karaoke and the usual fun and sinning.

Love.