29 April 2003, Elevenish

No se emendar� jamas

back & forth

OMNIWEB, I forsook thee, and my forsaking now truly do I rue. Lo, last night, I wrote a SPLENDID entry here using fleet-foot and beautiful CAMINO (n�e Chimera) who, alas! ninfa lusignola, doth not cache our entries. Against, for example, we accidentally re-load our 'Add an entry' page.

The annihilating blankness of this entry screen is too much to stomach twice in one night, so I wept very small and bitter tears and moved on rather than try to re-create the entry.

Current Musick: Handel cantatas &c. with Mar�a Bayo. I am undone! So sexy. At the moment, Tra le fiamme, which pretends to depict Musically the frying of moths' wings in the light of Love's too, ay, too-bright flame. In my prayers tonight I shall remember CAPRICCIO STRAVAGANTE's continuo section, a lusher set of string-pluckers than whom I have never feasted my ears on.

Current Work: She blindeth me with SCIENCE. I am Queue-Aying for my company these days, in preparation for the release of our You-Kay product. I'm more than a little frenzied by the sense of UNEXPLORED PLANET. Fresh markets to plunder, fresh customers to not-quite-fleece. One of the developers today showed a nearly ROMAN VIRTUE in the face of stress and exhaustion -- the product in question is all packed and set to be sent out to our Publique, but today we found a rather vile bug which could cause one to lose one's data. RB grew grave and said that he did not want to put out a product with this sort of flaw. No question. Tense moment. Eventually, I talked him down a little: it is not likely that this bug should become an issue for more than a few people, and the road a user would have to take to bring the bug to the surface is long and well-signed with warnings not to do anything if you're not completely certain about what you're doing. Nevertheless, I'm the one who set the compromise that we warn our customers in writing but nevertheless release the software in the form that has already been pressed, bug intact. It's not like me to allow something to which I have affixed my name fall short of my expectations. I don't know if I'll sleep too easy tonight. Go RB, engineer with conscience.

Current Food Well, dinner during Buffy with T, SLB, JK consisted of TRADER JOE'S pesto tortellini (my first experience with dry tortellini; I'd recommend boiling them a little slower and a little longer than it takes for them to float, also, with no salt in the water). Most satisfactory. MR did not like my 'unusual' salad of carrots and green pepper in a mustard-seed vinaigrette. It lacked diversity, she said, though there were no other sallet-veggibles to be had.

Current Buffy Cogitations: O dear O dear.

The Dante's Inferno Test has banished you to the Seventh Level of Hell!
Here is how you matched up against all the levels:
LevelScore
Purgatory (Repenting Believers)Moderate
Level 1 - Limbo (Virtuous Non-Believers)High
Level 2 (Lustful)High
Level 3 (Gluttonous)High
Level 4 (Prodigal and Avaricious)Very Low
Level 5 (Wrathful and Gloomy)Low
Level 6 - The City of Dis (Heretics)Very Low
Level 7 (Violent)Very High
Level 8- the Malebolge (Fraudulent, Malicious, Panderers)High
Level 9 - Cocytus (Treacherous)Moderate

Take the Dante Inferno Hell Test