8 August 2002, 21:16

Advanced Phlegmatics

back & forth

Music: old-skool AT, in the form of All the umbrellas in London.
Clothes: SLB's black teeshirt, glitter-written on it "GODDESS".

Spent a frustrating day in bed, ill-ish, sleeping the sunlight away. Woke up at five-thirty, in time to se ED heading off for an all-night session at work. Kicked around, disorientated, sore, cold, until SLB showed up and I made dinner for us. We talked about what kind of computer she wants to get, and ate our dinner and called the woman who's going to be our new housemate -- if we have anything to do about it.

Music, again: John Darnielle covering the Suede song Trash.

MG and I talked about our childhoods last night -- I surprised myself with an impromptu recitation of strange little details I had considered lost for years. Grandmothers, we decided, were absolutely essential. Everybody I am today owes something to one or the other of my grandmothers, either directly or indirectly. His grandmothers were all about flower arranging and chinoiserie and mine were about silver and criticism.

I meant to get something wonderful done with my second day off work. The first, I allowed myself, could be about lazily kicking around. The second, though, had to be the rather boring, hard work -- cleaning, laundering, bill paying, &c. And then tomorrow could be for enlightenment -- music, art, creativity, reading. Looks like enlightenment gets the shaft again.