May 4, 2002, 12:37 a.m.

Now there's only love in the dark

back & forth

Current cinema: Le D�ner de cons, because I need more Veberian analyis in my life.
Current music: Hesp�rion XX, playing sonatas and sinfonias by Johann Rosenm�ller. He was a friend of Heinrich Sch�tz, then Kapellmeister in Dresden, and was associated with Leipzig University and Adam Krieger's student collegium musicum. Too closely associated, it seems: he was arrested and clapped into prison in 1655 for engaging in Acts Unspeakable with several of the young men in his tutelage. He escaped to Italy, where he got a job at St. Marks's in Venice, disguised as a Second Trombone. Exciting biography aside, Rosenm�ller took to Italy and italian music like a duck to water, creating an early synthesis between English-German consort music and Italianate violinistics. I can also recommend a disc by Cantus C�lln which features his sacred music.
Current crush: beautyful, beautyful JF: after Beltaine ritual, he came up to my room, sat on my bed, rolled a huge and delicious J -- on my copy of Austerlitz, no less -- O pitter pat! -- can there be any nobler use for a noble book? And he is so charming and intelligent and shy and did I mention beautyful? Reader, I snogged him. Reader, why hasn't he written?
Current victory: Collecting unemployment! Go me!
Current recipe: This is how I would improve what I cooked Wednesday: Fry some tofu until golden: set it aside. Take one bunch of dandelion greens, saut� it lightly until it's no longer obvious that the greens were looking a little lymphatic. Instead of then adding pre-made peanut sauce (O, I repent me of it now and evermore!): set the greens aside. They are quite bitter. What they need is alcohol, of course. Throw two mashed cloves of garlic in, add a half cup of grated carrot and the juice of a lemon. Let these sizzle: turn it up a few notches until it begins to sear slightly, and (just in time -- mind you don't burn the garlic) deglaze it with red vermouth. Heat up the tofu and the greens in the sauce and serve immediately. There; that's better. Serve with an Irish red beer.
Current crush, further angst over: he's a student in another city, and the whole situation was just too deftly written to believed (I'll tell you the story some other time): the thought that it could have been "just" a one-night stand puts me on the verge of tears. I am inclined, as I am in all situations, to play it too cool. Keep in mind that my idea of displaying emotion is to blink when somebody else is watching. And yet, it was only a freak fit of my boldness that brought him to my room in the first place -- I have no confidence whatsoever that I wouldn't offend him in pressing further my suit. Heu, proh dolor. I was not made to woo. O heaving great bladders of platypus snot.
Current musical victory: AK came over to rehearse Suoner� l'ultima tromba. It just started hanging together, started making sense, this time. It is time for a concert.
Current shout-out: to Edith Pilaf, and she knows why she's so cool.