October 29, 2001, 11:23 p.m.

you're so technical / are you a boy or a girl?

back & forth

Big, warm, fuzzy thanks to EN and MG for taking me out yesterday to get job applications and beer. I'm not very good at accepting help graciously, so, uh, blessings, kids.

Today piled frustration upon frustration as I tried to set up a little local access lovin' with CG's grandparents' router. Many minutes spent on the phone with the ISP. MG had called in sick and was poking around miserable-like all day. I was irritable. All hell broke loose when MG found a clod of mold the size and shape of a fully-grown [green] wombat lurking in the salsa. He put it out and we ate our linguine plain.

MG gave me a ride to rehearsal, where everybody, not just me, seemed a little on edge -- this actually helped me calm down a little; they all had better reason. When I came back, ShW and I snapped at one another about the ISP stuff. I magically converted some pocket change into real money, so I might be able to eat again, tomorrow.

Day 12 or 13 since I saw DS, and he hasn't made his move. This is, of course, the point where I call DS, he reproaches me for not calling sooner, I apologize tearfully, ... Do I, as CG says, have my cosmic "kick me" sign on?

Thinking positively: the job at H*rv*rd is still available. Maybe they've been trying to reach me all week and are too shy to leave a message. Moreover, because of will power and the time change, I cut my sleeping-in back from 1:30 to 12:00 this morning. At this rate, I'll be diurnal again in no time! singing,

Up in the mornin's nae for me
Up in the mornin' airly
Whan all the fields are cover'd wi' snaw
I'm sure it's winter fairly...

Ev'rrybody!

a