September 3, 2001, 1:16 a.m.

...there was nothing in it but pain for me...

back & forth

We are all of us in the gutter, but some of us are looking up the dirty words.

Man, I was drivin' today with WB. To New Hampshire, to buy beer. But then we, like, stopped at Target and I bought underwear, and then we listend to The Clash and then we, like, found beer to buy and had french fries at Denny's. There were trees and hills and the sun, and we sang our guts out. Dude, I feel so American.

OK. I needed to get that out of my system. Perhaps it was the Mountain Goats talking (all mouth and stars-and-stripes-trousers), but I had FUN today with WB. It was bright, it was fast, it was ever-so-slightly illegal, and it was incredibly simple, like all the best ideas. It was WB's birthday today, and I'm saying prayers to several hostile gods so that he can get nicely snogged tonight.

And it makes me proud to be an American when I overhear the kids next to me at Denny's say, "Oh, he's so gay..."

That little ocelot I keep at the small of my back to tense me up when I should start thinking about fight-or-flight coiled itself around one of my vertebrae. I'm a long haired freak in a strip mall Denny's with purple nail polish and eye makeup on. I could so easily slip into trouble (or make some--) But then....

Then, the kid continued. Epiphany: he doesn't mind that his schoolmate is gay (although he does feel the need to articulate this). He thinks it's a little funny, but he's mostly picking on him for not being more out. O brave new world that hath such people in it. Have I Will and Grace to thank for this? Whose will, then, and by whose grace?

EN played a rockin' acoustic set tonight (with her boys). It went out live on radio, but (et semel emissum), sadly nobody recorded it. Simply everyone was there, even the people I know (the people I almost know). They have a pretty uniform, they're funny and tender and kind with one another. It was lovely.

Yours in sloth,

a