August 26, 2001, 2:00 a.m.

Eine kleine arschmusik...

back & forth

Went to the Babyland show tonight with S ... SX, I'll call her, since I don't know her last name and she's CEG's ex. She's wicked cool, and would laugh to hear me say it. Have a minor crush on her the way I get crushes on unnaturally large impatienses (impatientes?), foodstuffs or cats. Pure inphatuation. Whisked away by badass white pickup truck to chez IC, where I have again donned the beige skirt and am about to look for online pictures of Aldus Manutius's printer's-mark. Really great classic R&B song on the radio earlier -- "I have two lovers", if I may hazard a guess at its name based on its most prominent line.

SX's friends are adorable but they scowl almost as much as Bostonians. Okay, the nerdy boy and his modchick friends were getting a little too jolly in that mosh-my-feet-in way, but the whole concert was ... joyful. Folks was smiling. The band were funny and sweet and looked a little abashed at their popularity, which is the best way for a band to be.

Yesterday was pretty good -- I did the whole Telegraph shopping thing and then had AW, AM, CC and SX over for pasta con tof�. It was good. AM, CC and I played Guillotine at the Caffè Strada. Terreur-o-rama!

Sorry; had to make a diving leap for the radio. Gil Shaham was about to launch into the Max Bruch violin concerto (Sinopoli conducting) and the announcer sounded like she was about to cream her panties over it. Ugh. Vibrato city. Luckily, as my finger glid over the tuning knob, it found an adjacent 80's station. Yaz, kids, just ending [Situation]. And now, Ah-ha. [Oh good! SP's favorite song!] Gods save the Swedes.

Wondering how to get this much mascara off without eye makeup remover or pulling out my lashes. Do other men wonder this?

Slowly learning that life is OK,

a