2001-08-23, 9:22 p.m.

Straff und Ruhte...

back & forth

Today was such an ass-suckin' day I probably shouldn't even be writing this.

You have been warned.

As if that makes up for anything...

I currently have no access to cash. I at least have a working credit card, but that's small comfort: I can't even buy a bus ticket, let alone the train ticket I need to get out of here. And there are still four days left. Luckily, I'm far too worried and upset to remember that this is actually my holiday and I should be having fun now and trying to unwind from my incredibly stressful job, instead of burning in fires of self-reproach as well as ordinary garden-variety discomfort.

I would attempt to categorize my woes, but I think that would make even me weary. Besides, seeing them all in one place might very well send me over the edge.

The Berkeley Bowl, then, came out of nowhere. And for one transcendant minute, I stood open-mouthed in the produce section, completely in awe of prickly pears, elephant kale, purple asparagus ... the Earth and her fruits are beautiful.

AM is on her way over. And I spoke to HW today, too. And I will see AW soon, too.

punting,

a