22nd August, 2001, 11:57 p.m.

Venus Fly von Trapp

back & forth

Three magical things from today (not a complete list):

1. An Italian waiter dancing and singing as he brought the Sangiovese to our table.

2. Sitting in the Yerba Buena Gardens doing nothing and not having to put money down for it.

3. At possibly the lowest point of the day, an unexpected BART busker singing "Smoke and Mirrors".

Three mildly less amusing things about today:

1. losing the first version of this entry, which, I believe, was fresher, wittier, and less doomed to be self-referential.

2. Sore feet.

3. A gentlemen's disagreement with the Muni.

Three actually quite sucky things about today:

1. Being at loose ends and poor-ish in a vast and only slightly-familiar city.

2. I found THE SHOES. Well, I found THE SHOE. The guy at the shop had a look round the back and couldn't find its mate. It was SO my size. It was SO my color. It was SO my style. It was SO on clearance. I'll get you next time, Gadget, next time!!

3. Did I mention sore feet? I walked up hill and down concrete-infested dale for the better part of a day in designer boots. Everybody cry me a river together, please.

Decision to move to California postponed: not enough evidence. I would probably want to live in the East Bay and have a car. This would be civilised but would border on Yuppie Hell. Also, much will depend upon job availability. Did I mention that, at work, as they phase me out over the course of the year (an expected terminus ante quem, since I told KK right up front I didn't expect to work in a law firm forever, at least not without a law degree) as they phase me out, they will be hiring a new real estate associate to do my job plus a little lawyering. Not too shabby, I guess.

Okay, my eyes are crossing from tiredness and I didn't even get a chance to bitch about the Castro. At least part of this is bitterness over (1o) the shoes and (2o) missing Bea Arthur at Different Light last night. Nor did I, nor probably shall I, say anything about how callous SF really is under the smiles and "haveaniceday"s. Or why I gave more money to a college student with the same music tastes as me than I would give out to the homeless people of this city. Aaargh, conscience crisis brought on by lack of sleep.

sweet dreams,

a