2001-08-21, 9:51 a.m.

nel mezzo del cammin' di nostra vita,

back & forth

Okay, after, what, how many months of angst? here I am sitting in a fuzzy red room listening to Boy with the Arab Strap and typing my journal entry. Did I mention the Peet's coffee Chuck made me? Did I mention the four-month-old kitty? Right now she's frisking around under my knees like they're a railway underpass. Savage huntress, she be, in pursuyt of hir wilde tail.

So I guess it's really all right. I may be nasty broke, but things are finally happening again. For two years, I've been so afraid of bad things happening that I just haven't done anything.

Note to Apple: what were you thinking of when you designed the old iBook keyboards? they're simply egregious. Thassa problem with big corporations, innit? No bleeding communication. I was mildly scrod by my airline on the way out here, to wit, I had planned to go via Pittsburgh and see Mum and Da. They had money for me and moral support, both of which I need. [note to self: market a bizarre lycra contraption studded with Kant quotations, under the name "moral support"] But instead USAir flew me through Philly. At least I got to smell Philly again, but it wasn't the same as seeing the aged p's at the other end of an airport gate. Hoping to gods they don't charge me more for the tickets...

Got a call from SW this morning. She wants a sticker from City Lights. Anybody else need a NoCal decal? Lemme know.

Okay, there's too much life waitin' for me right now.

amour-propre,

a