2001-04-16, 8:43 p.m.

it would be a scream.

back & forth

Very intense day today -- I decided to wear all black again in honor of the occasion -- I somehow knew. Woke up just before one, had wonderful conversation with my housemate about the Persians in Herodotus and the Mikado, after which I went into the office. One of the tenants in my lawfirm, easily the busiest person I know, was there, in complete civvies. Looked positively adorable in dark green overalls with an orange shirt.

(BTW: in Mass., this is Patriot's Day, so the vast majority of people in the Commonwealth didn't have work, so they could watch the Marathon and Be In My Way).

After that, I went to have lime soda with LN at her office. She's in some unenlightened mental health firm that doesn't believe in good patriotism, and so she was working. In her office which she has to herself and which has a large window. Grrrr... Worse than the envy of somebody with a nice office was the realization that I'm now the kind of person who wants a nice office.

Well, it made me feel better to smoke some Dunhill Superior Milds, stalk around in black, and wear too much gel in my hair, anyway. I'm living a sort of Adolescent Revival right now, in terms of clothes, hair, and attitude. Probably because I can finally afford it, emotionally. When I was actually seventeen, I was way too fragile to extend my limits. I stayed firmly in my parents' shadow and liked it. "I could dress in black and read Camus, smoke clove cigarettes and drink vermouth like I was seventeen, but I don't want to get over you..."

I was thinking, the other day, that I would like to take a random poll of how old people in the street think I am. I keep thinking around 18 or 19, and plan to keep it that way.

My harpsichord lesson was wonderful. I can't wait for another. Then I sat in a caf� and read Firbank.

After that I had a nice chat with a friend who's going out of town for grad school soon, so it was pleasant to catch up before he slipped away.

I just remembered that I was supposed to call somebody tonight... ciao.